Cold Insanity Music
Christine Plays Viola

Links

Website
Website

Facebook
Facebook

Bandcamp
Bandcamp

Soundcloud
Soundcloud

Spotify
Spotify

YouTube
YouTube

Christine Plays Viola

Christine Plays Viola is an Italian band that blends Goth Rock, Darkwave and Post Punk in a convincing way. The band was formed in Pratola Peligna (Italy) in 2008 as a brainchild of three boys. After a very few minor changes of band members in the beginning, today they complete each other pretty well as a highly motivated foursome. Since the very beginning their music has offered a melancholic, multi-layered and evocative sound which keeps up the good old tradition of bands like The Cure, Fields Of The Nephilim or even Joy Division.

Christine Plays Viola started to play at festivals and were well received by critics as well as from their audience. After being part of several compilations, in March 2008 the band recorded their first self-produced EP “It’ll Be Cold This Winter” and they played more live gigs. In July 2009 they won the X edition of the competition Popolisound at Popoli (PE, Italy). Meanwhile their sound was becoming a bit more dynamic but it still has its blue aura. They also provided songs for the soundtrack of short films by Loreto Valente in 2009 and again in early 2010, when Christine Plays Viola recorded the demo EP “Useless To See Beyond”.

In the spring of 2010 the boys won the prestigious contest ‘Italy Wave Love Festival’ as regional winners and a little later they also won the ‘Orquestra 6 Alternative Contest’, by far the best contest of national independent music in Italy. This victory allowed the band to participate in the November 2010 edition of M.E.I. (Independent Labels Meeting) in Faenza. During this time, the four guys collected new ideas and kept in mind to focus on consolidating their sounds’ dark and atmospheric mood when they started to compose new songs for their first full length album.

Since then the band has had a lot of stage appearances all over Europe, together with numerous bands, such as Ulterior, ChameleonsVox, Vendemmian, The Last Cry, Rhombus, Aeon Sable, The Spiritual Bat, Berlin Black and others, getting more and more attention with their impressive live shows, based on Fabrizio’s virtuosic guitar play, Massimo’s stunning voice, Daniele’s incredible drumming and Desio’s perfected bass playing.

In 2012, as well as in 2013, the band released two limited “Promo” EPs, that sold out quickly and since August Christine Plays Viola have been working on their second studio album, which will be released in the beginning of 2014.

Christine Plays Viola also just got a confirmation for the ALT Fest in Boughton / Kettering, 2014, to play next to bands such as Fields Of The Nephilim, Alien Sex Fiend, Killing Joke, The Eden House and many more in August.

News about Christine Plays Viola

Luxury Stranger - Darkness Falls Upon The Light
The extraordinary UK post punk / alternative band strikes back - more...

Christine Plays Viola - Vacua
The new album of the italian progressive post punks is ready! - more...

Christine Plays Viola - First tunes of the new album
CPV, Christine Plays Viola, Dark Wave, Post Punk, Gothic Rock, Gothrock, Gothic, Rock - more...


Update: 20/01/2014, 10:22

Rate this page

To rate this page simply click on one of the stars.
Ratings go from "bad" (1 star) to "excellent" (5 stars).


Rating:
5.0 of 5, total 7 ratings.

Cold Insanity Music
Christine Plays Viola

Links

Website
Website

Facebook
Facebook

Bandcamp
Bandcamp

Soundcloud
Soundcloud

Spotify
Spotify

YouTube
YouTube

Christine Plays Viola

Christine Plays Viola ist eine italienische Band, die Goth Rock,Dark Wave und Post Punk auf überzeugende Art und Weise miteinander verschmilzt und 2008 in Pratola Peligna (Italien) als geistiges Kind dreier Jungs gegründet wurde. Nach einigen kleineren Änderungen der Bandmitglieder komplettiert sich das hochmotivierte Quartett nun völlig. Von Anfang an bietet ihre Musik einen melancholischen, mehrschichtigen und ausgeklügelten Sound, welcher in der guten alten Tradition von Bands wie The Cure, Fields Of The Nephilim oder sogar Joy Division daherkommt.

Christine Plays Viola begannen, einige Festivals zu spielen und wurden sowohl von Kritikern als auch vom Publikum hoch gelobt. Nach diversen Beiträgen zu verschiedenen Compilations nahm die Band im März 2008 ihre erste selbst-produzierte EP „It’ll Be Cold This Winter“ auf und absolvierte weitere Auftritte. Im Juli 2009 gewannen Sie die X edition des Wettbewerbs Popolisound in Popoli (PE). Mit der Zeit wurde ihr Sound etwas dynamischer, behielt aber die ‚blaue Aura’ dennoch bei. In der Zwischenzeit wurden einige ihrer Songs für die Soundtracks zu Kurzfilmen von Loreto Valente ausgewählt. Im Frühjahr 2010 folgte die Demo „Useless To See Beyond“.

Im Frühling 2010 gingen die Jungs in dem angesehenen Wettbewerb ’Italy Wave Love Festival’ als regionale Sieger hervor und gewannen ebenfalls den ’Orquestra 6 Alternative Contest’, den mit Abstand wichtigsten Wettbewerb der nationalen Independent Musik in Italien. Dieser Sieg erlaubte es ihnen, im November 2010 beim M.E.I. (Independent Label Treffen) in Faenza aufzutreten. Während dieser Zeit sammelte das Quartett neue Ideen und behielt diese, um sich auf die die Richtung festzulegen, welche die dunkle und atmosphärische Stimmung in ihrem Sound einschlagen würde und komponierten dabei neue Songs für ihr erstes Album.

Seitdem hat die Band zahlreiche Liveauftritte in ganz Europa absolviert und spielte dabei unter Anderem mit Bands wie Ulterior, ChameleonsVox, Vendemmian, The Last Cry, Rhombus, Aeon Sable, The Spiritual Bat, Berlin Black sowie weiteren zusammen und erreichten immer mehr Aufmerksamkeit mit ihren beeindruckenden Liveshows, die auf Fabrizios virtuosem Gitarrenspiel, Massimo’s überwältigender Stimmgewalt, Daniele’s unglaublichem Drumming und Desio’s perfektem Bassspiel beruhen.

2012 sowie 2013 veröffentlichte die Band zwei limitierte “Promo” EPs, die sich schnell ausverkauften. Seit August arbeiten Christine Plays Viola an ihrem zweiten Studioalbum, welches Anfang 2014 veröffentlicht wird.

Die Band wurde soeben auch für das ALT Fest 2014 in Boughton / Kettering bestätigt und wird zusammen mit Bands wie Fields Of The Nephilim, Alien Sex Fiend, Killing Joke, The Eden House und vielen weiteren dort im August auftreten.

Aktuelles zu Christine Plays Viola


- mehr...

Chrstine Plays Viola - Vacua
Neues Album der italienischen Progressive Post Punks steht ins Haus! - mehr...

Christine Plays Viola - Erste Klänge vom neuen Album
CPV, Christine Plays Viola, Dark Wave, Post Punk, Gothic Rock, Gothrock, Gothic, Rock - mehr...


Update: 20.01.2014, 10:22

Diese Seite bewerten

Zum Bewerten einfach auf die Sterne klicken.
Die Bewertungen gehen von "schlecht" (1 Stern) bis zu "ausgezeichnet" (5 Sterne).


Bewertung:
5.0 von 5, insgesamt 7 Bewertungen.